HomePoliticsPolitical Book Awards 2015

Political Book Awards 2015

Lara Pawson’s “In the Name of the People” and Roger Liddle’s “The Europe Dilemma” have received nominations at the Paddy Power Political Book Awards. The awards nominated “In the Name of the People” and Roger Liddle’s “The Europe Dilemma.” The awards recognize excellence in political writing and publishing.political book awards

Likewise, Lara Pawson’s “In the Name of the People” is featured in the Debut Political Book of the Year category.

The book delves into the events and aftermath of a small 1977 demonstration against the MPLA, resulting in the massacre of thousands of Angolans. The category winner will be awarded a prize of £3,000.

Roger Liddle’s “The Europe Dilemma,” nominated for Practical Politics Book of the Year, addresses key questions on EU integration.

It’s part of our Policy Network series, exploring Britain’s future in Europe, its stance, and the desired future for the EU.

Iain Dale, the awards’ founder, expressed, “The Paddy Power Political Book Awards have become a permanent fixture in the book awards calendar.

Moreover, the caliber of the shortlisted authors is once again outstanding, and the awards celebrate the breadth and diversity in political writing.”

The awards, presented in association with Politicos.co.uk, boast a judging panel including Lord Ashcroft, Charles Clarke, Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, Damian McBride, Ann Treneman, Andrew Mitchell, Caroline Michel, Marilyn Warnick, and Mary Beard. The ceremony, hosted by Rory Bremner, is scheduled for Wednesday, January 28, at the BFI IMAX cinema.

Until the 28th, fingers crossed.

Additionally, you may also read: The I.B.Tauris 2016 Review – Part One

Debut Political Book Of The Year Nominees Include

“The 13th Labour of Hercules: Inside the Greek Crisis” by Yannis Palaiologos (Portobello Books)

“City of Lies” by Ramita Navai (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

“Turkish Awakening” by Alev Scott (Faber & Faber)

“In the Name of the People” by Lara Pawson (I. B. Tauris)

“The Dark Net: Inside the Digital Underworld” by Jamie Bartlett (William Heinemann)

“How to Be a Minister” by John Hutton & Leigh Lewis (Biteback Publishing)

Practical Politics Book Of The Year Nominees

“The Europe Dilemma: Britain and the Drama of EU Integration” by Roger Liddle (I. B. Tauris)

“Scotland’s Referendum: A Guide for Voters” by David Torrance & Jamie Maxwell (Luath Press)

“The Democratic Unionist Party: From Protest to Power” by Jonathan Tonge, Máire Braniff, Thomas Hennessey, James W. McAuley, and Sophie A. Whiting (Oxford University Press)

“Sex, Lies and the Ballot Box” by Philip Cowley & Robert Ford (Biteback Publishing)

“The ‘Too Difficult’ Box” by Charles Clarke (Biteback Publishing)

“My Scotland, Our Britain” by Gordon Brown (Simon & Schuster)

Nishan Dahal
Nishan Dahal
Nishan Dahal, an astute editor and versatile writer, polishes the gems of storytelling and brings forth captivating narratives that sparkle with brilliance.

Expertise: Editing Mastery Versatile Writing


  • Expertly refines storytelling gems to shine with brilliance.
  • Demonstrates versatility across various writing styles and genres.
  • Experience

    Nishan's expertise in editing and writing shines on The Ibtauris Blog, where his meticulous attention to detail elevates the quality of content. His versatility allows him to tackle a diverse range of topics, ensuring that each piece resonates with readers and leaves a lasting impact.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular